Friday, September 12, 2008

Atlas Strategic- Rapture, Ye Minions!

Band: Atlas Strategic
Album: Rapture, Ye Minions!
Genre: Indie Rock
Country of Origin: Canada
Year: 2001

Track Listing:
  1. Welcome Aboard
  2. Jeered By Minor Demonds
  3. Chicken Shack
  4. Little Black Heart
  5. Bad Robots
  6. Baby
  7. Day in the Life
  8. Extreme Prejudice
  9. Car
  10. Poisonous Wine
  11. Official Opposition at the Galactic Council
  12. Idiot Boys
  13. Jesus Christ
Atlas Strategic is Dan Boeckner's (Wolf Parade, Handsome Furs) first "big" band (that is, they released an album). "Rapture, Ye Minions!" is their first and only full length album though they have an EP release as well, "That's Familiar". If you like Wolf Parade and Handsome Furs, there isn't really any reason you won't like Atlas, but they are significantly different. You can tell Dan is a budding Rockstar and the album is much less produced than any Wolf Parade release (which I happen to love, lo-fi is the rocks, but some may be turned off by this). It's hard to put a label on them, but they have a sort of blues, expiramental, and haunting aspect to them while retaining an indie sound (I know, heated label). If you're looking for something new (and something definitely different than what you're used to hearing), give Atlas Strategic a try. If you like them and can't find a release anywhere, I have heard a rumour that they are releasing a sort of "greatest hits" sometime on subpop (probably due to Dan's success in his other groups and the sheer awesomeness of Atlas).

No comments: