Friday, January 29, 2010

The Witchies

Don't have much time to write a full post (not that I ever really do), but I up'd this for a friend and might as well post it here too. Heres a great 5 song EP from (yet another) Canadian band that I expect much from in the future. They kinda sound like if Wolf Parade played dark power-pop in the late 60's.

Tuesday, January 26, 2010

satanstompingcaterpillars - Flower Slides

satanstompingcaterpillars is the first incarnation of that spectacular fusion of psychedelic rock and electronica we all love, Black Moth Super Rainbow. Here's my favorite album of theirs- 2000's Flower Slides.

1. Aphid
2. Trillium
3. Oxeye
4. Satanstompingcaterpillars
5. Theexactsamenoiselevelasbirds
6. Moveintoblue
7. Goodbye Method

Get it here

Friday, January 22, 2010


Not much else to say. awesome albums uploaded for someone and i'd figure some of you peoples would appreciate some of them too. Included are:

Enslaved - Frost

Absurd - Der Fünfzehnjährige Krieg

Ahnenstahl - Zwischen Tod Und Leben

Angantyr - Sejr

Behemoth - And the Forests Dream Eternally EP

Cold Void/TOD - Black Metal Armageddon split

Darkest Hate Warfront - Satanik Annhilation Kommando

deathspell omega- si monvmentvm reqvires, circvmspice

Drudkh - First 4 albums *in the Drudkh Prt 1 and 2 rars*

Frozen Shadows - Dans les Bras Immortels

Helheim - Jormundgand

Helrunar - Baldr Ok Iss

Horde - Hellig Usvart

Isengard - Høstmørke and Vinterskugge

Kvist - Demo and For Kunsten Maa Vi Evig Vike

Borknagr - Olden Domain

Silencer - Death, Pierce Me

Leviathan - Verrater

Blut Aus Nord - The Work Which Transforms God

Xasthur - A Gate Through Bloodstained Mirrors

Wolven Ancestry - The Wrath Of Gaia

Slavia - Strength and Vision

Have fun

Friday, January 8, 2010

Warpaint - Exquisite Corpse

Artist: Warpaint
Album: Exquisite Corpse
Genre: dream-pop/shoegaze
Year: 2009 (but most of the songs have been around for longer I believe)
Heres a link to the song Billie Holiday, after listening you'll know if your onboard or not. It feels like the group has been around forever but this album has only (or rather finally) been released this past year. Dreamy, a little fuzzy around the edges, Warpaint has a sound that truly takes you elsewhere. And oh yeah, Shannyn Sossaman was originally the drummer for band.

Monday, January 4, 2010

Emmy the Great - First Love (Deluxe Edition)

Band: Emmy the Great
Album: First Love
Genre: Folk, Antifolk
Country of Origin: England
Year: 2009

Track List:
  1. Absentee
  2. 24
  3. We Almost Had A Baby
  4. The Easter Parade
  5. Dylan
  6. On The Museum Island
  7. War
  8. First Love
  9. MIA
  10. The Easter Parade Part 2
  11. Bad Things Coming, We Are Safe
  12. Everything Reminds Me Of You
  13. City Song
  14. Edward Is Dedward
  15. A Bowl Collecting Blood
  16. Two Steps Forward
  17. Canopies And Drapes
My favorite album of 2009, the debut full length by folk songstress Emma-Lee Moss, aka Emmy the Great. Lovely, well arranged Folk and well written lyrics make for a great mix, I find. It's the deluxe edition (received it for Christmas!) so it comes with the Edward is Dedward EP (tracks 14 through 17).

P.O.S. - Never Better

Band: P.O.S.
Album: Never Better
Genre: Hip-Hop
Country of Origin: USA
Year: 2009

Track List:
  1. Let It Rattle
  2. Drumroll (We're All Thirsty)
  3. Savion Glover
  4. Purexed
  5. Graves (We Wrote The Book)
  6. Goodbye
  7. Get Smokes
  8. Been Afraid
  9. Low Light Low Life
  10. The Basics (Alright)
  11. Out Of Category
  12. Optimist (We Are Not For Them)
  13. Terrorish
  14. Never Better
  15. The Brave And The Snake
Latest album by Doomtree member P.O.S., continues his visceral, Punk influenced style of Hip-Hop and has some killer drum machine stuff going on in a number of songs. If you liked Audition or Doomtree, grab this.

Suffocate for Fuck Sake - Blazing Fires and Helicopters on the Front Page of the Newspaper. There's a War Going On and I'm Marching in Heavy Boots.

Band: Suffocate for Fuck Sake
Album: Blazing Fires and Helicopters on the Front Page of the Newspaper. There's a War Going On and I'm Marching in Heavy Boots.
Genre: Post-Hardcore, Post-Rock, Post-Sludge Doom Metal
Country of Origin: Sweden
Year: 2008

Track List:
  1. Blue Lights and Sunshine
  2. I Got Worried... I Was so Freaking Scared of that Window, You Know
  3. We are Driving through Darkness
  4. Twentysix and Full of Plans
  5. A Japanese Flag
  6. I Keep my Eyes on the Ground, Afraid of Meeting Someone I Know
  7. Empty
  8. They Try to Cheer Me Up by Saying I Did Once Live a Functioning Life
Debut album by an interesting and little known Swedish band that blends Post-Rock, Post-Hardcore and the Post-Sludge Doom Metal of bands like Isis and Pelican, mixing it with clips of conversations. Great stuff.

Dessa - False Hopes

Band: Dessa
Album: False Hopes
Genre: Hip-Hop
Country of Origin: USA
Year: 2005

Track List:
  1. Mineshaft
  2. Everything Floats (feat. Cecil Otter)
  3. Press On (feat. Sims)
  4. 551
  5. Kites
EP by Doomtree member Dessa. Highly suggested for fans of female MCs. She has an album due out this year, and if this EP is any sign of what it will be like, it's something I'm looking forward to.

Doomtree - Doomtree

Band: Doomtree
Album: Doomtree
Genre: Hip-Hop
Country of Origin: USA
Year: 2008

Track List:
  1. Close Your Ears (Intro)
  2. Drumsticks
  3. Gander Back
  4. The Wren
  5. Gameshow Host
  6. Dots & Dashes
  7. Game Over
  8. Reak Class (interlude)
  9. Last Call
  10. Accident
  11. Sadie Hawkins
  12. The Walrus (interlude)
  13. Twentyfourseven
  14. Let Me Tell You, Baby
  15. Down the Line
  16. Kid Gloves
  17. Popgun War
  18. Reintroduction (interlude)
  19. Liver Let Die
  20. I'm Talking
  21. Jaded
Eponymous release by Hip-Hop collective Doomtree, which consists of MCs P.O.S., Sims, Dessa, Mike Mictlan, and Cecil Otter and DJ/Producers Paper Tiger, MK Larada, Lazerbeak and Turbo Nemesis. For information on how produces and raps on each track, see here.

The Blood Brothers - Crimes

Band: The Blood Brothers
Album: Crimes
Genre: Post-Hardcore
Country of Origin: USA
Year: 2004

Track List:
  1. Feed Me To The Forest
  2. Trash Flavored Trash
  3. Love Rhymes With Hideous Car Wreck
  4. Peacock Skeleton With Crooked Feathers
  5. Teen Heat
  6. Rats And Rats And Rats For Candy
  7. Crimes
  8. My First Kiss At The Public Execution
  9. Live At The Apocalypse Cabaret
  10. Beautiful Horses
  11. Wolf Party
  12. Celebrator
  13. Devastator
My favorite album by seminal Post-Hardcore band The Blood Brothers.