Thursday, April 2, 2009

Fin de Siècle - Nine Barns

Band: Fin de Siècle
Album: Nine Barns
Genre: Neofolk/Ambient/Experimental
Country of Origin: France
Year: 2007

Track Listing:
  1. Introduction
  2. Fearless Femme
  3. Summertime
  4. Prison
  5. Daddy
  6. Interlude
  7. Lonely
  8. Nine Barns
  9. The Feast
  10. Stranger
  11. Night Hawks
  12. Summertime 2
  13. Ashes
  14. Epilogue
I can't find any samples anywhere, Fin de Siècle weren't exactly well known. Nine Barns was their last album and is really a quite beautiful, interesting and eerie Ambient album that sometimes boarders on Neofolk in a few songs. The ambience is mostly created through wonderfully creative violin, guitar and drum work, with sound clips and backing synth in many places added to it. The wonderful, intense and eerie atmosphere the violin work of Florence Cailleux can create is especially noticeable on tracks like "Fearless Femme" and "Prison". "Daddy" is an incredibly intriguing musical adaption of Sylvia Plath's poem by the same name, with a recording of Sylvia Plath herself reading the poem placed over Ambient music. If you're interested in something experimental, interesting and absorbing, give this a listen, but skip it if you don't plan on sitting down and opening yourself up to every second of the music.

1 comment:

Foldered said...

Sounds pretty promising and definitely a great band name. I'll check them out tonight!