Monday, June 29, 2009

The Downfall of Gaia - Demo CD-R 2008

The Downfall of Gaia hail from Hanburg + Hannover Germany and all i can say is: why are they not well known?! Just imagine a bunch of Crust Punks making emo. And you've got it. Not much else to say. but if someone happens to live in this area of Germany. Hook these guys up with a drummer again. Make sure to look them up on myspace as well

1. Der letzte atemzug
2. Bild in grau
3. 1000 nadeln
4. Doomi

Friday, June 19, 2009

gavin castleton

so i'm not uploading anything here, just bringing to your attention a killer little album by singer/songwriter Gavin Castleton that you can stream for free from his website. it's a beautiful love/zombie story that's easily worth an hour of your time

be sure to read the story of the story and the 'liner notes' that come up with each song

Thursday, June 18, 2009

The Nerves- The Nerves (EP)

Artist: The Nerves
Album: The Nerves (EP)
Genre: Punk, Rock and Roll, New Wave
Year: 1976
  1. One Way Ticket
  2. Paper Dolls
  3. Give Me Some Time
  4. Hanging on the Telephone
  5. When You Find Out
  6. When You Find Out (Alternate Recording)
  7. Working Too Hard
  8. Letter to G
  9. Stand Back and Take a Good Look
  10. Are You Famous
The Nerves were a rock band from the mid-70s that only had one release, this EP- though this version has extra tracks. Their sound, however, heavily influenced the yet to be established American punk rock scene and they even toured with the Ramones. They're one of my favourite groups right now and I think a lot of people here will dig it. As Dan Boeckner has said, this is punk before punk existed.

Hopefully the web sheriff isn't working for Alive records...

Sunday, June 14, 2009

Nesin - Vanity

Yea. Another one. This one is by a little known Japanese noise artist. It was handed out for free and is his only non live release. Using nothing but sound samples from porn of only the most depraved kind and effects you are essentially "Ear Raped"

1. A Moment
2. Ear Raped
3. Resonance
4. Reversibility
5. Vanity

Thursday, June 11, 2009

Dinosaur Jr.- Farm

Band: Dinosaur Jr.
Album: Farm
Genre: Alternative, Grunge, Indie
Release Date: 2009 (Advance)
Country of Origin: USA
  1. "Pieces" – 4:34
  2. "I Want You to Know" – 4:32
  3. "Ocean in the Way" – 4:22
  4. "Plans" – 6:43
  5. "Your Weather" (Barlow) – 3:08
  6. "Over It" – 3:49
  7. "Friends" – 4:34
  8. "Said the People" – 7:43
  9. "There's No Here" – 3:41
  10. "See You" – 5:49
  11. "I Don't Wanna Go There" – 8:45
  12. "Imagination Blind" (Barlow) – 3:21

We all know Dinosaur Jr. is amazing, there really isn't much debate over that. However, many of their albums were released without the original lineup of J., Lou Barlow, and Murph. Their first three albums- "Dinosaur", "You're Living All Over Me", and "Bug" - are the only albums created with the original lineup ... then "Beyond" came along in '07 around the same time as their reunion tour and the original lineup was back. Personally, I thought "Beyond" could have been better (my expectations were high), but it was a really awesome album regardless. Earlier on in the year I had heard that Dino was going to release a new album and since have been anxiously awaiting. Not only that, but I was also excited that they were now signed to jagjaguwar, a very prominent indie label that has signed the likes of Sunset Rubdown, Pink Mountaintops, and Julie Doiron, among others. I wasn't a big fan of Merge and was a little dissappointed when I had found out "Beyond" would be released under them.
Personally, I think everyone should download this simply on the principle that it's a new Dino album, but I recognize that not everyone may be as excited about it as I am. The album itself sounds amazing, arguably better than Beyond, and reminds me a lot of the "Where You Been" era of Dinosaur Jr. (aside from "You're Living All Over Me," my favourite Dinosaur Jr. album). Give it a try and pick yourself up a hard copy on June 23rd (along with the new Sunset Rubdown album, Dragonslayer).

Here it is, enjoy.

EDIT: since it was taken down, I'll at least link to the Daytrotter Sessions. hopefully the web sheriff doesn't rape that too.

Wednesday, June 10, 2009

Aushvitz/Spinal Cord - 2002-2006

Better known for his work in the band Galneryus and Animetal Syu has another project up his sleeve. Started in 2002 under the name Aushvitz it was a slow going project from the start. But the music doesn't lack in anyway. An eclectic mix of Extreme Metal, Shred, and Hard Rock. The downside? Every release is a single with no album even on the horizon. Recently the name was changed to Spinal Cord after a long hiatus with a promise to kick it into high gear. With another single late last year and no info from the bands side again it's not looking good. But for now enjoy whats out

1. Where we Go?
2. ほむらび
3. 赤涙
4. 脳拘束

1. アペカの快楽

恋破レ、水没(2003)*my fav*
1. 慟哭
2. 恋破レ、水没
3. 拷問破り、逃れる術、ありますか?

1. 背徳の祈り
2. 背徳の祈り

All of these in a nice little rar: