Friday, January 2, 2009

Tiamat - Wildhoney/Gaia

Band: Tiamat
Album: Wildhoney/Gaia
Genre: Gothic Metal
Country of Origin: Sweden
Year: 1994

Track Listing:
  1. Wildhoney
  2. Whatever That Hurts
  3. The AR
  4. 25th Floor
  5. Gaia
  6. Visionaire
  7. Kaleidoscope
  8. Do You Dream of Me?
  9. Planets
  10. A Pocket Size Sun
  11. Gaia (Video Edit) (Gaia)
  12. The AR (Radio Cut) (Gaia)
  13. When You're In (Pink Floyd cover) (Gaia)
  14. Whatever That Hurts (Video Edit) (Gaia)
  15. The AR (Ind. Mix) (Gaia)
  16. Visionaire (Remixed Long-Form Version) (Gaia)
I'm going to try and restrain myself, because my description of Wildhoney could turn into a massive review. Wildhoney is, without a doubt, one of my favor albums ever, Metal or otherwise. It's one of the most well crafted, complete Metal albums I've ever heard. No second is unnecessary, no song filler, every song is necessary to understand every other. It's a psychadelic, gothic journey. The album, just over 40 minutes in length, is essentially a single song that was split up into 10 tracks. Every song bleeds together with the next beautifully, making the album a journey and experience, not merely a collection of songs. It's a highly personal travel through the thoughts and emotions of Johan Edlund. The music covers many emotions and sounds. From the gorgeous titular intro to the aggressive "The AR", backed by choir like and psychadelic electronic synths and a stunning spoken word bridge backed by Industrial music and gentle guitar strums to the synth and drum driven beauty that is "Gaia", this album is wonderful. More so than even the past two album, Wildhoney's lyrics are wonderful.

This rerelease of Wildhoney is accompanied by the Gaia EP, which consists of remixes of various songs from Wildhoney, as well as a Pink Floyd cover, a band which Edlund was apparently listening to often at the time of the creation of this album. Enjoy.

No comments: