Thursday, September 11, 2008

Alison's Halo - Eyedazzler 1992-1996

Band: Alison's Halo
Album: Eyedazzler 1992 - 1996
Genre: Dream Pop Shoegaze
Country of Origin: USA
Year: 1998

Track Listing:
  1. Raindrop
  2. Wishes
  3. Melt
  4. Chime
  5. Always April
  6. Slowbleed
  7. Torn
  8. Leech
  9. Sunshy
  10. Chalkboard James
  11. Untitled (Live at the Beautiful Noise Festival, 1995)
Alison's Halo is a Dream Pop Shoegaze band formed in 1992 from Tempe, Arizona, consisting of members Adam and Catherine Cooper, Lynn Anderson, and the band's drum machine Alison, which might be named after Slowdive song by the same name. Eyedazzler is a collection of songs the band wrote and recorded between 1992 and 1996, and was finally released in 1998. It is one of the most beautiful and atmospheric albums I've heard. The guitars change from reverberating riffs that envelop the listener, to gentle strumming and picking, and suck you into each song. From the energetic waves "Raindrop", the uplifting melodies "Sunshy", to the delicate echoes of "Leech", Eyedazzler creates engulfing soundscapes that feel as though one could swim through them. One of the best things about the music is Catherine Cooper's vocals; they're light, airy and angelic, accenting the music perfectly.

1 comment:

Evergreen said...

Truly beautiful music. Fantastic.