Saturday, September 13, 2008

The Talking Heads - Fear of Music

The Talking Heads
Album: Fear of Music
Genre: New Wave/Punk
Country of Origin: United States
Year: 1979
Track Listing:
  1. I Zimbra
  2. Mind
  3. Paper
  4. Life During Wartime
  5. Memories Can't Wait
  6. Cities
  7. Air
  8. Heaven
  9. Animals
  10. Electric Guitar
  11. Drugs
The Talking Heads are a New Wave band that formed in 1974 in New York City. Led by main musician and songwriter David Byrne, it was originally formed from a group of graduates from the Rhode Island School of Design. As such, they were known for having true multimedia performances, with their concerts involving film and other graphics in addition to the music.

Their music might sound like a sort of twisted disco at first, since it draws on punk music as a main influence. They're a very interesting band. It's likely they're one of the least-obscure bands in this blog, since they had large amount of commercial success in the 80's. To quote music critic Stephen Thomas Erlewine, the Talking Heads are "one of the most critically acclaimed bands of the '80s, while managing to earn several pop hits."

This album, Fear of Music, is their third studio album, and my favorite. It has some of their most classic songs on it (though not their biggest hit, Psycho Killer), in addition to being an excellent album in general. It's a great introduction to the band, showing off their excellent songwriting skills and David Byrne's often subversive lyrics.

No comments: