Saturday, September 13, 2008

Shining - V - Halmstad

Band: Shining
Album: V - Halmstad
Genre: Suicidal Depressive Black Metal
Country of Origin: Sweden
Year: 2007

Track Listing (English Translation in Parenthesis):
  1. Yttligare Ett Steg Närmare Total Jävla Utfrysning (Yet Another Step Towards Complete Fucking Desolation)
  2. Längtar Bort Från Mitt Hjärta (Longing Away From My Heart)
  3. Låt Oss ta Allt Från Varandra (Let Us Take Everything From Each Other)
  4. Besvikelsens Dystra Monotoni (The Dismal Monotony of Disappointment)
  5. Åttiosextusenfyrahundra (Eightysixthousandfourhundred)*
  6. Neka Morgondagen (Deny Tomorrow)
* "Åttiosextusenfyrahundra" is an adaption of the first movement of Beethoven's The Moonlight Sonata.

V - Halmstad is an incredibly dark album. My favorite Shining album, it makes a lot out of a little. The generally long songs shift tones regularly, from acoustic bits, to Black Metal which goes from aggressive to SDBM, to strings and shrieking solos. The vocals are incredibly interesting; though they take some getting used to, they really fit with the feelings meant to be evoked by the music.

One Note: "Neka Morgondagen" cuts off about two minutes near the end, unless you physically make the player jump beyond that point. The album is still worth listening in this shape, but when I get around to getting a repaired version (it's surprisingly hard; many people have this version), I will post the track individually.

1 comment:

Robin said...

So, this might be the only black metal album I've ever listened to that I actually like.