Friday, September 26, 2008

She & Him - Volume One

Band: She & Him
Album: Volume One
Genre: Indie/60s Pop/Country/Folk
Country of Origin: USA
Year: 2008

Track Listing:
  1. Sentimental Heart
  2. Why Do You Let Me Stay Here?
  3. This Is Not A Test
  4. Change Is Hard
  5. I Thought I Saw Your Face Today
  6. Take It Back
  7. I Was Made For You
  8. You Really Got A Hold On Me
  9. Black Hole
  10. Got Me
  11. I Should Have Known Better
  12. Sweet Darlin'
  13. Swing Low Sweet Chariot
She & Him is duo consisting of actress Zooey Deschanel (Pronounced: zoey day-shu-NELL) and musician M. Ward. They play an amalgamation and mix of Indie, Folk, old-fashioned 60s style Pop, and Country. Songs like "Change Is Hard" and "I Should Have Known Better" are more Country, "I Was Made For You" instantly brings to mind older Pop music, "Sentimental Heart" brings piano and strings together into and a sad yet pretty mix, "Why Do You Let Me Stay Here?" and "Sweet Darlin'" burst with perkiness and Zooey Deschanel's lovely singing, echoed by Ward, brings poignancy to their interpretation of "You Really Got A Hold On Me". It's a delightful album that brings together many elements into a collection of tunes that bring with them many emotions and atmospheres. Let's hope there's a Volume Two.

1 comment:

Foldered said...

I was waiting for you to post this (it's why I didn't). I love the way Zooey Deschanel(sp?) and M. Ward work together. And she has a beautiful voice. (So does he, but it's rarely heard in the collaboration).