Sunday, September 14, 2008

Refused - The Shape of Punk to Come

Band: Refused
Album: The Shape of Punk to Come
Genre: Hardcore Punk
Country of Origin: Sweden
Year: 1998

Track Listing:
  1. Worms of the Senses / Faculties of the Skull
  2. Liberation Frequency
  3. The Deadly Rhythm
  4. Summerholidays Vs. Punkroutine
  5. Bruitist Pome #5
  6. New Noise
  7. The Refused Party Program
  8. Protest Song '68
  9. Refused Are Fuckin Dead
  10. The Shape Of Punk To Come
  11. Tannhäuser / Derivè
  12. The Apollo Programme Was A Hoax
"I got a bone to pick with capitalism and a few to break
Grab us by the throat and shake the life away
Human life is not commodity, figures, statistics or make believe!"

The opening verse of the first song of this album pretty much gives you an idea of what to expect from Refused; angry-as-fuck, anti-capitalist Hardcore Punk. The Shape of Punk to Come certainly gives you that, it has all the left wing pretenses and pounding energy you'd expect, while being more experimental and daring than their earlier work. This is particularly obvious with cases such as the Ambient "Bruitist Pome #5" and atmospheric Electronic break near the end of "New Noise". The album also displays a plethora of particularly awesome basslines. Enjoy.

No comments: